CCDC Prize 2018

I am very pleased to announce that the winner of this year’s CCDC Chemical Crystallography Prize for Younger Scientists is Dr Claire Hobday (University of Bath/University of Edinburgh).

Claire’s research in the field of metal-organic frameworks (MOFs) has brought together techniques from high-pressure crystallography, density functional theory and classical simulation to understand the adsorption properties of MOFs and their mechanical properties. Both the research itself and her skills in communicating the science have shown what a valuable member of the British crystallography community she is.

Claire gave a prize lecture on her work at the BCA Spring Meeting in Warwick (2018) where she was presented her prize by Dr Pete Wood of the CCDC.

Stephen Moggach
CCG Chair