CCDC Chemical Crystallography Prize for Younger Scientists 2020

A little later than planned but it is our pleasure to announce that the CCDC Chemical Crystallography Group Prize for Younger Scientist goes to Karen Robertson (University of Nottingham) for her work in continuous manufacture and crystallisation. This was a really hotly contested prize this year with many applicants displaying exceptional quality. She will be giving her award talk online at the CCG Autumn meeting on the 18th November 2020.

We are delighted that Karen has been awarded the 2020 CCDC Prize. Understanding how materials come together is very much at the heart of what we do at the CCDC and so we have been following Karen’s research into crystallisability keenly. Her research so far has been exciting to follow and the impact she has already had in this field has been significant. The CCDC is always proud to support this award and Karen is a very deserved winner!”

Juergen Harter (CEO, CCDC)

“Karen’s research in the field of crystallisation in flow environments has been at the leading edge of continuous manufacturing. She has been leading developments of segmented-flow crystallisers and in particular the KRAIC that is now well-established and has been used for combined synthesis and crystallisation. In collaboration with beamline scientists at Diamond Light Source, Karen has integrated the flow systems to achieve in-situ monitoring of the crystallisation processes. She is a very worthy winner of the CCDC prize this year in a strong field which is a tremendous testament to breadth of talent in the UK Crystallographic community.”

Iain Oswald, CCG Chair.